About KTC

Since 1981, the Kentucky Transportation Center (KTC) has been a leader at the state and national levels in multidisciplinary transportation research. The Center uses applied research to provide a safe, efficient, environmentally sound and fiscally responsible transportation system that delivers economic opportunity and enhances the quality of life in Kentucky.

Housed in the Oliver H. Raymond Building on the University of Kentucky campus, KTC researchers enjoy access to spacious laboratories as well as the most technologically advanced equipment and instrumentation with which to conduct their work. They routinely collaborate with the Department of Civil Engineering’s renowned faculty on research projects. In 2015, KTC was ranked 4th on campus in the amount of project awards brought into University of Kentucky. That rank climbs to 3rd when medical research is not included.

KTC’s researchers work in several program areas, including: Bridge Preservation, Construction Engineering and Project Management, Economics, Finance and Policy, Education, Intelligent Transportation Systems (ITS), Pavement, Materials, Geotechnology and Infrastructure Assessment, Planning, Project Development, Special Projects and Initiatives, Structures, and Traffic & Safety.

In addition to strong working relationships with the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet and the Federal Highway Administration, the Center has forged strategic partnerships with a wide variety of government agencies, transportation organizations, and key stakeholders. Through its commitment to high-quality research, technology transfer, and educating the next generation of transportation professionals, the Center works every day to improve the nation’s transportation systems. And with talented research staff and a proven track record of delivering transportation solutions, KTC will continue to expand its national profile and cement its reputation for producing timely, accurate, innovative research.

Get to Know More About KTC


KTC Advisory Board

The Kentucky Transportation Center Advisory Board was established by the Kentucky General Assembly in 1984. The Board’s purpose is to assist with policy formation and to provide direction to the Center. The Board consists of nine members appointed by the Governor with the following representatives: the Secretary of the Transportation Cabinet, the State Highway Engineer, the Dean of the College of Engineering; one member each from a list submitted by the Kentucky Association of Counties, the Kentucky County Judge/Executives Association and the Kentucky Transportation Center.




KTC History

In 1939, a materials research lab at the University of Kentucky (UK) published a paper in ASTM on the selection of aggregates for concrete pavement. Two years later, the Kentucky Highway Department took an interest in the group and established a Division of Research with the mission of investigating materials for pavement mixtures. Over the ensuing 40 years, the group expanded from its humble beginnings as a materials research lab, broadening its research focus to include various transportation-related topics. The group was officially designated as the Kentucky Transportation Research Program in 1980, when the Kentucky Department of Transportation abolished the Division of Research and directed UK to continue the research function.


image of the KTC org chart and all the program areas and directors

KTC Organizational Chart

Learn about the different departments of research within the KTC organization. Each of the 12 research areas has a Program Manager or Associate Director who leads the group. For more information about the Areas of Research and their staff members, follow the link provided on the individual research program area page. There you will find contact info, staff biographies, and further details about individual contributions to the success of KTC.

Kentucky Transportation Hall of Fame

The Kentucky Transportation Hall of Fame was established by the Center in 1990 to recognize those professionals who have dedicated their time, knowledge, and creativity to provide an efficient and safe transportation system within the Commonwealth.

Each year a Selection Committee composed of five Kentucky transportation executives, officials, and college professors requests nominations from across the state and chooses a recipient(s) from those nominations. The Hall of Fame inducted its first recipient, Henry T. Ward, at the 27th Annual Kentucky Transportation Forum held on November 1-2, 1990, at the University of Kentucky.

Diversity & Equal Opportunity

The Kentucky Transportation Center is committed to a policy of providing equal opportunities for all persons in recruitment, appointment, promotion, payment, training, and other employment and education practices without regard for economic or social status and will not discriminate on the basis of race, color, ethnic origin, national origin, creed, religion, political belief, sex, sexual orientation, marital status, or age. KTC does not discriminate on the basis of uniform service, veteran status, or physical or mental disability when an individual otherwise meets the minimum qualifications for application or participation.

The Kentucky Transportation Center, in its efforts to foster an environment of respect for the dignity and worth of all members of the KTC community, is committed to maintaining an environment free of prohibited discrimination, which includes sexual and other forms of harassment. Discrimination and harassment are prohibited between members of the KTC community and shall not be tolerated.