The Kentucky Transportation Center Advisory Board was established by the Kentucky General Assembly in 1984. The Board’s purpose is to assist with policy formation and to provide direction to the Center. The Board consists of nine members appointed by the Governor with the following representatives: the Secretary of the Transportation Cabinet, the State Highway Engineer, the Dean of the College of Engineering, one member each from a list submitted by the Kentucky Association of Counties, the Kentucky County Judge/Executives Association and the Kentucky League of Cities, and three members at large. The Secretary of Transportation serves as chair and the Board meets semi-annually, at a minimum. Board meetings primarily concern policy matters relating to the Center’s technical assistance, research programs and financial plans.


KTC’s Advisory Board met on UK’s campus in the Drive Lab, home of the new driving simulator. The Board also toured KTC’s facilities and got a look at the pavement forensics equipment.


The Advisory Board meets twice each year, typically in the spring and fall.  For information regarding the meeting agenda or for minutes of prior meetings, please contact Andrew Myers at myers.andrew@uky.edu or at 859-218-0337.

Current Board members are:

Jim Gray, Secretary, Kentucky Transportation Cabinet, Chairperson

James Ballinger, State Highway Engineer, Kentucky Transportation Cabinet

Rudy Buchheit, Dean, College of Engineering, University of Kentucky

Alex Barnett, Harrison County Judge/Executive, Kentucky Association of Counties

Pamela Smith-Wright, Member, Kentucky League of Cities

Casey Ellis, Owen County Judge/Executive, Kentucky County Judges Association

John Dougherty, Louisville Paving, At-Large Member

Mike Law, At-Large Member

2022 Advisory Board Meeting