Learn more

2022 Kentucky Transportation Hall of Fame Inductees Announced at KBT Conference in Louisville

KTC Director Doug Kreis presented the awards on January 20, 2022. Congratulations to Bob Lewis, David Houchin, and Shirley Cummins!

Bob Lewis

Bob Lewis

Robert Clay (Bob) Lewis, PE, provided over 40 years of service to the residents of the Commonwealth of Kentucky through his dedication to transportation at a local, state, and national level. A second generation KYTC employee, Mr. Lewis began his career with the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet as a KYTC scholarship student while pursuing a Civil Engineering degree at the University of Kentucky (1976). He served in various roles at the Central Office, including Liaison Engineer for Districts 8 and 11, Assistant Director for Construction, Assistant State Highway Engineer, Deputy State Highway Engineer, and Acting State Highway Engineer. At a national level, Mr. Lewis represented the state of Kentucky on the AASHTOware Project Task force that provided direction for the AASHTOware Project software modules. As a practicing engineer, he was active in ASCE, KATE, & PAIKY. In retirement, Mr. Lewis continues to give back to transportation in the state through his research with the Kentucky Transportation Center. Locally, he stays involved in transportation through volunteering with Walk Bike Frankfort and the Bluegrass Cycling Club. In 2020, he moved to Oregon to be closer to his family where he continues to advocate for safe cycling. Click here to read his full bio.

David Houchin

David Houchin

David Houchin attended the University of Kentucky as a transportation scholarship student. Upon graduation he started his career as a soils research engineer with the Kentucky Department of Highways. After his time with the Transportation Cabinet, he became a sales engineer for ARMCO Steel Corporation and later its spinoff company Contech Construction Products. He earned his Professional Engineer license in 1975. In 1991, Mr. Houchin founded Intech Contracting, a Kentucky-based construction contracting company that specializes in bridge repair and restoration and bridge inspection support. He has maintained deep personal involvement in the UK College of Engineering throughout his career. As a co-founder of the Industrial Advisory Council for the construction option of civil engineering, he played an important role in establishing the construction management concentration. He is also a past chairman of the Civil Engineering Industrial Advisory Committee and is a University of Kentucky Fellow. Mr. Houchin was awarded KSPE’s Engineer of the Year and the UK Construction Management Founders Society Lifetime Achievement Award. In 2019, he was inducted into the UK College of Engineering Hall of Distinction. Click here to read his full bio.

Shirley Cummins

Shirley Cummins

Shirley L. Cummins’s journey in transportation began over 35 years ago when she first volunteered at the Rockcastle Senior Citizens Center. Soon she rose to become the Center’s Executive Director. Motivated to increase the mobility of senior citizens, Ms. Cummins pursued and obtained wheelchair accessible vehicles that could be used to transport older residents. Intensive community outreach followed to inform residents of the new transportation options. Soon after, services expanded into Whitley, Laurel, and Knox counties, and then elsewhere. By 1990, what began in Rockcastle County as a small operation with two vans serving three senior centers was incorporated as Rural Transit Enterprises Coordinated, Inc. (RTEC), a vibrant nonprofit public transportation corporation that now operates in 15 counties throughout southeastern Kentucky. With a fleet of approximately 230 vehicles and a staff of almost 200, RTEC provides vital services to the residents of the communities it serves.  Ms. Cummins serves on the Boards of Directors of the Kentucky Public Transit Association (KPTA), Kentuckians for Better Transportation, and Public Transit Modal. In 2001 she was inducted into the Kentucky Transit Hall of Fame. In 2021, KPTA presented her with the Lifetime Achievement in Transit award. Click here to read her full bio.

Kentucky Transportation Hall of Fame Nomination Criteria

Kentucky Transportation Hall of Fame inductees shall be persons who by their foresight, dedication, leadership, perseverance, and integrity have significantly enhanced transportation systems in the Commonwealth. They shall be or shall have been residents of the Commonwealth.

The Kentucky Transportation Center (KTC) established the Kentucky Transportation Hall of Fame in 1990 to formally recognize those people whose professional contributions have significantly improved the safety, quality, and efficiency of the Commonwealth’s transportation systems. Both public and private sector practitioners are well represented in the Hall of Fame.

Each year a Selection Committee requests nominations from across the state and chooses one or more recipients from those nominations. The Hall of Fame inducted its first recipient, Henry T. Ward, at the 27th Annual Kentucky Transportation Forum held on November 1-2, 1990, at the University of Kentucky. 

Hall of Fame Selection Committee

Doug Kreis

Nancy Albright

Henry Hinkle

Paul Steely

Greg Pritchett

Richard Sutherland

Chad Larue

Marcie Matthews


Kentucky Transportation Hall of Fame Inductees

2022 Inductees

2022 Shirley Cummins

2022 David Houchin

2022 Bob Lewis

2019 Inductee

2019 Jerry Pigman

2018 Inductees

 2018 J. Barry Barker 

 2018 Lewis ‘Nick’ Melton  

2008 Inductees

2008 Wendell H. Ford

2005 Inductees

2005 Hal Rogers

1998 Inductees

1998 Harold C. Watts

1997 Inductees

1997 Calvin G. Grayson

1996 Inductees

1995 Inductees

1995 Otto Ingram

1993 Inductees

1993 Dwight H. Bray

1992 Inductees

1992 Cyrus S. Layson

1990 Inductees

1990 Henry T. Ward

Blue Divider Bar